Re-finding my yoga mat

Today, after a few months off, I re-found my yoga mat. It feels so good to be back.

Why did I stop? Well, mostly due to pain in my arm that made yoga difficult and frustrating and my crazy work schedule which makes it hard to stick to a routine. Oh, and it is expensive and I’m still trying to get back on track financially.

These are all true, but the thing is, with all the conflict, stress and long hours, I really need yoga now more than ever.

Today after a really long sleep I woke up and decided that it was time to just get on the mat at home. I’ve trained as a yoga teacher. I know what to do. I can adjust the routine to work around injuries and aches and pains.

So I put on a meditative music cd, stepped onto my mat, and just did a free flow of whatever poses I felt like in the moment. It was so great!

It’s unfortunate that I lost yoga for these past few months, as I’m sure it would have really helped with the stress.

But I’ve found it now, and it feels good. I plan to try to get on my mat every day now. Any length of time, no routine to memorize and follow. Just be present and move.

Namaste! πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Re-finding my yoga mat

  1. I think depression is a sad and strange disease, because it makes us less inclined to do those things which we know will be good for us. So pleased you’ve found yoga again. XX

  2. Good work, to get on your mat by yourself at home! I need to do that ,as well

  3. Implemented yoga into my daily life, love it, would never do anything else for my mental and emotional well being. Great share.

    http://www.anxietykey.com

Leave a Reply

